Deadline To Hand In Nomination Packets For Elected Office In Fall River - Friday July 12, 5:00 p.m

The final deadline for securing nomination packets to run for elective office in Fall River is now closed and the chase is on to secure signatures in the race for the nine City Council seats and six School Committee spots.


Fall River Mayor Jasiel Correia II has turned in his nomination papers, according to The Fall River Herald News. He will face a pair of challengers who will constitute a September Preliminary Election for Mayor. 


Those two are current School Committee member and recall election runner-up Paul Coogan as well as community activist Erica Scott-Pacheco who also ran against Mayor Correia in March’s Recall Election. 


Coogan will have to leave his seat behind on the school committee while current City Council Member Derek Viveiros is not running for re-election. 


There are currently six contenders for Fall River City Council with a guaranteed slot on a potential September Preliminary Ballot. That includes current City Council President Cliff Ponte, along with incumbents Leo Pelletier and Joe Camara.


Former City Council President and Mayoral Challenger Linda Perreria as well as challengers Michelle Dionne, Christopher Peckham and Matthew Springer will also guaranteed a preliminary spot. 


Dionne indicated to WSAR News in the Spring if elected to council, she would vacate her seat on the Fall River Redevelopment Authority. 


Incumbent Shawn Cadime continues to collect his signatures while potential challenger Colin Dias has indicated to WSAR he will turn in his nomination packet before Fridays 5 p.m deadline. 


Five challengers and two incumbents, Stephen Long and Pam La-Liberte Lebeau have until the deadline on Friday to return their nomination paperwork.